FEATURE: Hair Stylist – Melvin Royce Lane [Mieka Hairdressing]

HAIR STYLIST MEVLIN ROYCE LANE

Interview: Kate Andrews

Describe what you do:
I am proudly a Stylist at Mieka Hairdressing in Collingwood, Melbourne. I believe an outstanding hairdresser is an individual who aims to meet all their client’s expectations therefore I strive every day to inspire my clients to embrace a new look and I educate them on the importance of the correct hair care. Outside of the salon I am a Session Stylist who creates editorial hair looks for magazines and campaigns. Plus I work backstage as a stylist at Australian Fashion Week and numerous runway events.

How long have you been a hair dresser/session stylist?
I’ve been in the hairdressing industry for 5 years. Two years ago I decided to leave my life behind in New Zealand and be trained under the mentorship of Tracey Hughes at Mieka Hairdressing.

What motivates you?
Constant challenges and endless pressure to be the best I can be motivates me.  I try to cease and take advantage of all new opportunities allowing me to constantly keep growing.

What is the hardest thing about being a session stylist?
Not knowing what to expect on the day of a shoot – but you need to be prepared for anything!

How do you overcome this?
Open communication between all the team including the photographer, fashion stylist and makeup artist.

Photograph by Andrew Maccoll 

What is the best thing?
I appreciate the opportunity to work with such talented, creative people and produce stunning imagery. Also the excitement and energy working backstage at Fashion Week creating a whole look in a such short amount of time.

How would you describe your work?
I am influenced by traditional classic hairdressing but also take inspiration from edgy individual street style and unique fashion designs.

What is your career highlight thus far?
I had the privilege to assist my mentor Tracey Hughes in the USA, be on stage in front of 2,000 people and showcase what I love to do – educate young emerging hairdressers on the importance of precision cutting.

Lowlight?
3am call times and 3 hours of sleep but I still LOVED IT!! 

Who has influenced you the most creatively?
Anthony Capon, co-designer at Et Al Melbourne, and head designer at a.concept. Anthony is a very good friend of mine who has taught me to never be afraid of pushing the boundaries, and that everything in life is an artwork.

Photograph by Andrew Maccoll 
Finish these sentences:

In 5 years

I will be traveling around the world inspiring others about the world of hairdressing and fusing fashion and hair together as one collective piece of art.

Life is awesome when
My client has that sparkle in their eye knowing that I have done an amazing job on their hair. I feel the most satisfied when I witness happy clients!

When the shit hits the fan
KEEP CALM AND GET THE JOB DONE!!

I am inspired by… The streets of Melbourne! There is always something new to me; it is a runway show that changes everyday.

Creativity is… The quality that you bring to the activity you are doing. It is an attitude, an inner approach – how you look at, and interpret, things around you.

Who is your favourite person from history? Alexander McQueen.

Whats the best piece of advice youve been given?
My mentor Tracey Hughes has always advised me to work hard and say yes to every opportunity that comes my way. Never be afraid to try new things because the more pressure the bigger the diamond I will become.

Photograph by Andrew Maccoll

Guilty pleasure? 
Hendricks gin on the rocks and a cigarette.

Fave film? Alfred Hitchcock’s ‘Psycho’.

In 3 words describe your style. Distinctive, individual, contemporary.

What is one word that best describes you? Creative.

What is something quirky we dont know about you?
I studied fashion design while working in the hair industry.

 Where would you like to live most in the world? New York or Paris.

 What advice would you offer emerging hair dressers/session stylists? 
Never ever say no to opportunities, always keep an open mind and when things get tough just remember tomorrow is another beautiful day.

Photograph by Andrew Maccoll

 

View Melvin’s work with The Dream Assembly here.

Mieka Hairdressing.

Leave a Reply

