March by Emre Deniz [EchoCharlieDelta]

SubmissionFINALweb
Interview with Artist Emre Deniz [EchoCharlieDelta]: Kate Andrews

Explain what you do.
I’m a digital artist/game developer, I specialize in illustration, concept visualization and game design.

Why do you go by EchoCharlieDelta?
The name kind of stuck, but in essence it is just alias.

What moves you to illustrate?
I like to create. There is no greater satisfaction for me to illustrate something in my imagination.
Your work seems to contain both fantasy elements paired with harsh reality. Why do you think this is?
Personally I believe that I get really involved into each piece, as in my day-dreaming and imagination kind of centers on that ‘arc’ until it is done. So maybe I superimpose my reality into my art.

How did you find illustration and graphics?
I’ve been drawing since before my eye/hand coordination knew to process visual images (I used to draw things upside down/backwards as a baby). So I guess just born with it?

Who has made the biggest impact on you creatively?
My partner, Malin, has played a massive role. It was after meeting her that I put the afterburners on my career and really started putting things together.

What is your greatest fear as an artist? 
To not be one.

Have you ever had periods where you are uninspired? How do you deal with this?


I don’t think I’ve had recent periods where I have had any dry moments as an artist, but I have definitely had periods where I hated what I was working on. I get moments of urgency when other artists release awesome artwork and I realize I have spent a week designing menu buttons.

What has been your career highlight thus far? Not sure how to pinpoint that, but definitely the entirety of 2012.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve received? Sow today what you will reap tomorrow.

What advice would you offer aspiring illustrators/designers?
Record inspirations, talk to other creatives, reach out to artists, stop listening to your family and think big.

Finish these sentences:
Life is awesome when… you are living.
I would like to die… many years from now.
My style is… colorfully bleak.
When the shit hits the fan… I pick up a shovel.
In life & in Art: Instinct or logic? Instinct is the lazy man’s wisdom, in both life and art.

If you were an animal what would you be? Blue-Whale.

Favourite person from history is? Saladin.

What do you value above all else? Momentum.

When you are unsure of something who do you go to? Not really anyone.

Do you paint/draw when angry or when happy? Probably happy, angry drawing is never too productive for me.

Describe the last thing that made you feel awesome.
Being asked to submit to Dream Assembly on the same week another illustration was published in MCN!

You have tattoos. Tell us what they mean to you.
I have two. One is a flying wolf, which I got under-age, which smells like teen spirit. The second is a sword wrapped around a poshu (Kurdish scarf), which is a heritage thing. Being half Abkhazian and half Kurdish makes for an interesting heritage.

What do you do in your spare time? Draw or play computer games.

What is your philosophy in life? We all come back to where we were meant to be.
If your general state of mind was a colour, what would it be? Dark green.

What’s something we don’t know about you? I’m totally a cat person and I really dislike house music.

If you weren’t an artist what would you be? When I wasn’t an artist I was a stock investment researcher. That wasn’t fun at all.

Which 5 people would you invite for your ‘Last Supper’?
Sid Meier, Peter Molyneux, Xia Taptara, Christian McCrea and we could all get together to beat Will Wright to death followed by a nice meal.

Where would you like to be in 5 years time? Walking through the door of my own development studio.

If money was no object what would you do? Buy Metro. Nationalize Metro. Buy Swinburne University Prahran Campus; turn it into Melbourne’s largest funded hive-studio for creatives. Buy a boat, sail to Phi Phi Island in Thailand, grow a rad bear-beard and never wear shoes again.

BACK TO DUALITY ISSUE.

Leave a Reply

