Interview: FRESH CROP – ARTIST TO WATCH [Lani Williams-Windfall Jewellery]

Interview:kate andrews

Describe what you do.
I’m a jewellery designer/silversmith. I hand make sterling silver and gold jewellery in Melbourne Australia.

How long have you been a jewellery designer?
Only a year. Windfall Jewellery launched on Halloween 2011.
I’m basically self taught and wasn’t born into the industry. I’m pretty new to all this .

Who is the jeweller or artist that has influenced your work the most?
My favourite jeweller is William Griffiths from Metal Couture.
I don’t really wear other jewellers stuff anymore with the exception of Metal Couture.

What motivates you?
Time frames. I’m a pretty self motivated person, you have to be when you run your own business.
So to keep everything running like clockwork I need timeframes to stick by.

What is the hardest thing about being a designer?
I skipped this question and came back to it hoping I would have an answer but I still don’t have one. Maybe ask me again in another couple years, right now I’m having a ball.

What is the best thing?
Freedom. To be who you want, make you want, do what you want, go where you want.

How would you describe your work?
Uptown elegance downtown edge.

Windfall Jewellery
See more in the American Apparel Editorial: http://wp.me/p2RDm0-5d

Do you think jewellers should have a specific style?
Yes and no. It’s great to have your own style and for your brand to have its own identity. I think its important to have a point of difference from other designers. Having said that its also good to try new things and step outside your comfort zone sometimes.
What advice would you offer emerging designers? Surround yourself with positive people that encourage you to keep doing what you’re doing and are more than happy to help you any way they can.

What is your strength and what is your weakness in business?
Determination. Without it I would be no where. My weakness in this business is lack of knowledge. I’m basically a self taught artist so I’m not very knowledgable about many areas that i wish i knew more about. But thats all part of the journey.

When are you happiest?
When I’m at home with my husband and our bulldogs. I’m a pretty simple person and I’m a bit of a homebody.

How do you find peace?
I travel. I see the world as much as I can and go to places that blow my mind. I get immersed in cultures that are so unlike my own and it makes me realise how rad my life and this world is.

Where would you like to live most in the world?
In Australia: Byron Bay. Overseas: Langkawi Malaysia. Both by the beach.

Windfall Jewellery
See more in the American Apparel Editorial: http://wp.me/p2RDm0-5d

Finish these sentences:
I would like to die…never. I don’t want to die.

I like my bulldogs because they are hilarious.

When the shit hits the fan… my husband cops it and somehow deals with it and makes it better.

I am inspired by
Life. travelling. nature. existence.

Creativity is… something everyone has. Most people just don’t embrace it.

Windfall Jewellery
See more in the American Apparel Editorial: http://wp.me/p2RDm0-5d

Instinct or logic? Instinct.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?
Time is money.

If you were a celebrity who would you be and why?
I would hate to be a celebrity. I like privacy.

Guilty pleasure? Anything sweet!!!!

Fave film?
 Pirates of the Caribbean.

What was your impression of the world when you were growing up?
When I was in primary school I just thought the world was about being at the beach.

Has the way you view the world changed?

Yes!!!! When I was a teenager I was angry and hated the world thought everyone was against me. Now I’m older I have a really positive outlook about life.

If the world was to end tomorrow what would you do?
Teleport my husband and 2 bulldogs to Langkawi and sit in the bar right on beach drinking pina coladas.

Passion is… having a dream then making it a reality.

Windfall Jewellery
See more in the American Apparel Editorial: http://wp.me/p2RDm0-5d

Leave a Reply

