Interview: FRESH CROP – ARTIST TO WATCH [Illustrator – April Wright]

Interview:kate andrews

Finish these sentences:
In 5 years I will be…still drawing.

Life is awesome when… you wake up feeling content.

I would like to die… never, I have too much stuff to do.

I likedoing what I love because it makes me happy.

My style is…minimal.

April Wright 4

When the shit hits the fan…I have a glass of wine, oh and breathe.

Instinct or logic? Instinct.

Who has made the biggest impact on you creatively?
My grandmother, because at the age of 13 she could draw better than I ever will.

If you were an animal what would you be? Wild ; )

April Wright 3

Favourite person from history is?
Valentino Garavani. What a beautiful legend!

What’s your poison? Wine.

What would you crawl over hot coals for?
An uninterrupted month in Croatia

How did you find illustration and graphics?
Illustration has always been instinct for me and about 2 years ago I decided to get serious.

What is your greatest fear as an artist? To lose originality.

April Wright 5

How do you keep inspired? Looking, reading, thinking.

Do you feel your gender has made a difference to your art or level of success? How?
Yes! It’s second nature for me to draw sexy, empowered women and I think this comes from female intuition.

April Wright 2

If money was no object what would you do? Travel, Heaps!!!!!!!

What advice would you offer aspiring illustrators/designers?
Draw/design whenever you can, and just put it out there an objective opinion makes you try harder. Also a big one for me it to stay true to your own instinct and style as an artist, because it is this that will set you apart from others.

What is your passion? succeeding.

April Wright 6

Leave a Reply

